So sometimes, things don’t always go quite as planned. And most of the time, it’s really okay. You figure it out, let it go, and move on.  Sometimes that can be difficult though with channels such as Pinterest, Instagram, and the blog world depicting DIYers, crafters, cookers, bakers, photogs, and fashionistas as stunningly perfect.  The photos you find can often leave you feeling totally inadequate and hopeless.  Your flaws scream black when everything around you is white.  It can make you want to crawl in bed and pull the covers over your head, or better yet shove your face in a pillow and scream for your momma.   You know you will never be that master crafter/baking goddess/stylish photog.  Doesn’t mean you can’t try.   But it’s probably better that you don’t.  Honestly, who wants to be that perfect anyway?  What happened to learning from our mistakes? Owning our flaws? Being vulnerable about where we are lacking?  I say no more dusting under the rug, no more playing dress-up, mistakes are a part of life. It’s what makes life exciting. And mistakes almost always add some comedic relief to daily life and not to mention they always, and I mean always, provide growth that you won’t find anywhere else.

Take a look at this Blogger’s stance on Pinterest here. I couldn’t agree more, but also have to admit I don’t have that kind of self-control.  I love Pinterest and it definitely motivates me and flows those creative juices. But it’s one of those dangerous things that’s only good in moderation.

So, the balance then?  Don’t let Pinterest, blogs, or photos become your ideal.  Let it inspire you and let that be all. It’s not realistic. And it’s most definitely not worth it to kill yourself over being that perfect or being ‘just like her’.  Be you. Be messy.  I’m messy.  My husband tells me I’m a little too messy sometimes, so I work on it.  Do I think I will ever be a perfectly put-together, fancy, clean, housewife, uh no. But I will do my best, and I will be better each day with practice and with time.

And believe me all this is not easy for me to say.  I struggle with it everyday.  I think especially being a newlywed it’s difficult to shake that desire to be the best wife, the best cook, the best gardener, the best decorater, the best laundry folder, and on and on.  Let me tell you… your husband does not need gourmet meals every night.  Leftovers are perfectly acceptable.  Whoever says they aren’t worthy of a dinner plate is wasting time and food! And trust me, I learned this the hard way.  Week 3 of marriage I was 5 pounds heavier and probably 10 hairs grayer.  Also if you really think about it, if your perfect by age 25, what are you going to do with the rest of your life?  There’s so much joy to be had with the time it takes to practice, grow, and nourish your skills and hobbies.

I can’t help to be reminded of my grandma.  She is a great cook, and I mean great.  But she didn’t learn everything she knows in one year.  She had to make all her recipes dozens and dozens of times to get it just right.  And her growth didn’t stop at ‘just right’ either, you pick up something else and work that next.  Heck, she learned to drive at age 50! Yahoo, keep the learning coming.

Remember, (and I have to tell myself this everyday) perfection is not worth the stress. Preserve your energy and strength and put it back into your relationships.

And to prove I am not perfect, check out the cookies I made last night with my best friend, Danielle.

Yes, those were supposed to be individual cookies.  Whoops.  You’re laughing right?  See comedic relief, just like I said.

Look for Part 2 on a spiritual look at what God says about perfection.

