So earlier this week we were talking with a friend from our small group about potentially doing some camping this summer.  This got me so excited!  I absolutely love camping.  My mom used to take me a lot when I was a kid.  I used to ride in one of those kid packs.  Pretty awesome right?  I will have to dig out one of those oldie pictures sometime.

So I thought I would do a Friday post on five things Justin and I are in need of before we become expert campers. We literally have no gear.  So that means we better start saving up now, gear is pricey!  Or better yet we should do a gift registry for Christmas. Why we didn’t do a wedding registry at REI is beyond me.  We totally should have!

Begin REI wish list to myself…

1. Marmot Limelight 3-person Tent

2. For Her: Marmot Angel Fire Sleeping Bag in Abstract Green, 26° F temp rating, For Him: REI Radiant Down Sleeping Bag in Indigo/Ocean Blue, 17° F temp rating

3. For Him: Gregory Baltoro 75 Litre Pack in Cone Red, For Her: Osprey Aura 65 Litre Pack in Eggplant Purple

4. Black Diamond Spot Headlamp

5. Eno Doublenest Hammock in Orange

If only… For now we are stuck with what we got, which is pretty much just a mish mash of household items like blankets, handheld flashlights, and fold up lawn chairs.  I’m sure over time and as we do more camping we will accumulate more gear.

Hoping some day we can camp at Red River Gorge in Kentucky.  All I hear are fabulous things about it, plus they have some killer rock climbing.  Would love to dig back into indoor climbing and possibly take an outdoor trip next summer.

Photo Credit: JSH

Photo Credit: BSProductions

Justin and I have only been camping once together with our friends Carl and Danielle.  We had an absolute blast. We are hoping to go again with them soon.  Here’s a picture from our trip in southern Indiana.

And this is just a great shot.  I love him! And his outfit.

